Weather themed tags challenge

I had just enough time to fit in one more craft project before I head to Sunny CA for a little rest and relaxation.

Over at Catherine and Cathy Create they have their third challenge posted for February. It is a tags challenge in which the tag needs to have a weather theme.  I dug through my stampin’ stash and found I don’t have much to do with weather…. hmm, no sun, no clouds… but I do have snow!  How ironic, I also have LOTS of snow outside, so it only seemed fitting to use snow as my weather element. Here is what I came up with:

 photo IMG_20140217_084521_600_zpsok1ntxlm.jpg

For this card I used the Chalk Talk Stamp set and Framelits from Stampin’ up.  I stamped the sentiment in Night of Navy which is actually darker than the patterned paper I used.  I tried to use Not Quite Navy but it did not show up well on the Crumb Cake paper. Then I thought maybe if I used the darker color but then outline the stamped image with the Chalk Marker from Stampin’ up it would look better. I should have taken a picture of the before and after because it is a huge difference.  I really like how much it truly looks like a chalk drawn sentiment by adding this detail. I also like how I can still use the dark ink color and get the chalk look.  I have a feeling that new chalk marker is going to come in handy a lot. My weather detail is the snowflakes on the background. These are snowflakes from the Festive Flurry set from Stampin’ up’.  I wish I could have found a more “snow like” designer paper to use with it, but this was what I had available.    🙂 Other paper used includes Stampin’ up Crumb Cake and Very Vanilla with crumb cake sponged on top.

Now I need to finish up my work day and then it is off to enjoy sun, sand, friends and family as I am heading to the Golden State for some seriously NEEDED va-cay!!

Happy Stamping everyone!

Kristal

2 thoughts on “Weather themed tags challenge

  1. And we have lots of snow too!! Love this – I don’t know why but snow never even crossed my mind… even though the snow is piled up on the window in my craft room. Thanks for playing along at Catherine and Cathy Create!

Leave a Reply

