Luck of the Irish Challenge

Over at Catherine and Cathy Create the March Monthly Challenge is “Luck of the Irish“.  Anything having to do with an Irish theme can be created.  So of course my first thought was St. Patrick’s day stuff, but I don’t really have much in the way of that. I noticed a few individuals completed rainbow projects in their samples so I thought maybe I could do something like that.  This project is actually a two-for-one because over at Operation Write Home the ODBD March Challenge is to make a thank you card.  So when I started making this card I planned on it being one I could send off for our heroes. Hopefully they like colorful cards!

Here is what I came up with:

 photo d60ae6a0-b1f8-4d31-a249-4fdf8540eada_zpsb4f8300e.jpg

This challenge proved to be very tough for me.  I believe it was because I chose to go with a rainbow them. I found that I don’t really care for a large range of colors. I also do not tend to be a primary colors person. None the less, it was a good thing to try. I think the card turned out okay, but even now as I look at it I think it is missing something…. I am open for suggestions on what I could do to improve on this card, got any?

To make this card I used the Mosaic Madness Stamp Set and coordinating punch.  The paper is a deal I got from Stampin’ up that they had on their clearance rack. It really looks like this stamp set was meant to go with this paper!  The ink colors I used were all Stampin’ up: Riding Hood Red, Calypso Coral, Summer Sun (really old color I still have from years ago), Garden Green, Not Quite Navy and Elegant Eggplant.   It is funny how when you do certain projects you realize what you are missing.  I have no true orange ink! I had no idea. I also found I had no pink color to round out the rainbow.  So it looks like I will be adding Pumpkin Pie and either Rich Razzleberry or Melon Mambo to my list of things to get (probably all three). 🙂

Happy Sunday everyone!

~Kristal

5 thoughts on “Luck of the Irish Challenge

Leave a Reply

