Scrappin’ Saturday

Happy Saturday!!

It is a very happy Saturday for me because I am at a weekend scrapbook retreat!! Over 50 hours of time to just rest and create. If you are a crafter and have never been to one, I highly suggest checking one out! I am currently attending a retreat hosted by The Scrap Cabana. The individual who puts these on really makes them fun with lots of games, prizes and some silliness to go with all of it.  If you are in the Chicago area, check out The Scrap Cabana for a fun weekend of crafting.

Since I am getting to create lots of things this weekend I am just going to highlight a few here and there.  I think I am going to try to make my Saturday posts all about scrapbook pages I have made and things I have learned about scrapbooking techniques.  I tend to be a scrapper who uses both stamping products and machine based elements in my layouts.  I am finding I am the minority at weekend retreats like this one. Practically EVERYONE uses a Cricut.  But I really like the variation available by using various mediums. With that said, I am trying to branch out my own scrap design and be a little more modern/ hap-hazard in the way I put things together. I have always been one to be very uniform in how I put things together.  It is proving to be a bit challenging but I think I will learn more this way.  Keeping that in mind, here is what I created today:

 photo 7f490d27-5ba3-40ad-acc5-47d8331a0f7b_zps411e1f8e.jpg

 photo fff6245c-486d-45d6-bb79-93f02c7b471f_zps85835350.jpg

I am currently working on my wedding album so these two pages are my adorable nephews getting their groove on at the weeding.  This open layout took me forever to finish and I still am not sure what I think about them.  I tried to use different patterns, textures and colors that worked well together but weren’t matchy-matchy. I seem to be all about the paint splatter look out there right now so I have a feeling there will be much more of this in my pages to come.

Well I am off to go see how many more pages I can finish and also see if I can win a prize for today!

~Kristal

5 thoughts on “Scrappin’ Saturday

  1. Pingback: Metallic Shine | artymaz's inky fingers

  2. I love the purple & gold together. The layout gives a real fun & funky feel to all the dancing & parting going on at the wedding. I think you achieved your modern/ hap-hazard in this layout successfully.

Leave a Reply

