Going Gray

I have been doing a lot of blog hopping lately and I keep finding fun challenges everywhere.  The best thing about challenges is that they get you to think about doing things differently.  Also, I tend to use papers and stamps I may have forgotten about.  Thanks to Sarah over at The Handmade Card Blog I found another challenge to check out. It is Cas-ual Fridays.  The most recent challenge is to make something with two shades of gray.  So I dug through my stuff and realized, hey have some gray cards leftover from the Paper Pumpkin kit I got last month. Let me see what I can come up! Here it is:

 photo fcd71b8d-1131-4a6e-b7a8-0401bb4cfdfe_zps164fc5d2.jpg

What a simple card to make! The challenge said we should use two colors of gray… I am stretching it a bit by using the gray card base as one color and the rhinestones are the second gray color  😉  I really just wanted to use up some other scraps I had to make this card so I added some bright colors in there too. The vellum is fun to work with, though I was a little stumped on how to attach it without adhesive showing through. I got creative by wrapping the vellum all the way around the card on to the inside and then adhering it on the inside of the card with some paper over the top to cover things up. It actually worked quite well.

Most of this card is made from my Paper Pumpkin received in the mail. Paper Pumpkin is a monthly subscription from Stampin’ up that allows you to make quick and easy creations. I just started the subscription and the card you make from it actually looks like this:

Paper Pumpkin

This is the starter kit.  You can tell there are bits and pieces of that in my card.  The kits you receive after this one are a SURPRISE. Fun, right?  I also found another challenge website – My Pumpkin Challenge – where they ask you to make a variation of the suggested Paper Pumpkin card or project and share it on their site. I am anxiously awaiting my next Paper Pumpkin kit so I can see what I can come up with and submit it.

Okay I need to get back to work.  Happy Tuesday and go find some time to create today if you can!

~ Kristal

4 thoughts on “Going Gray

Leave a Reply

