Purple and Yellow color challenge at Operation Write Home

Happy Friday Peeps!

I am soooooo glad it is Friday! I am enjoying some extended time at my parents house in southern Illinois watching their cats while they are away enjoying sunny CA with my brother.  One of the best things about working from home is that I can be mobile so I can work while helping out my parents at the same time. I made sure to pack up all my scrapbook supplies because my best high school friend and I will be scrapping the day away tomorrow and I can’t wait! Since I had all my stuff with me, I decided to give the Operation Write Home midweek throwdown a try.  The challenge this week was to use yellow and purple.  That didn’t seem too tough so I tried to give myself another challenge…. make a one layer card that still looked complete to me. I always find this to be a challenge. I like some layers on my cards. I feel like it really grounds things. So I struggled at first, but here is what I came up with:

 photo 42e90f86-5205-4457-9c26-8308d1f81dc1_zps105be86d.jpg

 

I believe it came out okay, but I still think it could use a layer under the green! Oh well, practice makes perfect I guess.  To make this one I used leftover scrap papers I had (though the yellow is So Saffron from Stampin’ up).  I used various circle punches and some washi tape to make the banner at the bottom.  The stamp is from theSee Ya Later Sale-a-bration set from Stampin’ up which I believe will no longer be available as of Monday!

Since I had paper left from these colors I decided to make one more card for someone I know who is on the mend. Here it is:

 photo 6e91db29-b198-4b67-a38e-09bd835362bb_zpsf92e3dc8.jpg

 

I have to admit I like this one much better.  Maybe I am one of those people who just needs to make cards with layers. For this one I used the same circle punches (scalloped and regular) all from Stampin’ up and their Itty Bitty Shapes punch pack which is turning out to be very handy for adding tiny little embellishments to things!

Hope everyone has a fantastic Friday and you find time to create today!

~Kristal

 

Leave a Reply

