Fresh Beginnings

Oh how life can change so quickly. I have been away from the blogging/scrapping world for over a week now because I sustained an injury to my back.  It is likely pretty significant as the preliminary tests indicate my injury is in the same location I had surgery on 5 years ago.  I will have more tests to get the specifics, but for now I am spending a large part of my day laying down.  Makes for a challenge in terms of scrapbooking or making cards, eh? Well it sure does.  So once I know what is really wrong and figure out a plan for what it will take to get better, I am going to try to have a new perspective. You see I have a pretty demanding job. I spend many extra hours working and based on what I do, I sit for a very long time.  My doctors told me 5 years ago I need to be exercising and be aware of changing positions from time to time.  I did listen at first, but not these last two years.  It appears I am paying for it now. But it is likely there is a good treatment or surgery that can help me get back on track and when I do, Iwill have my fresh beginning. I will make time to exercise and get away from my work desk, like I should.

The good news is I had completed some cards for some challenges before this happened so I can still participate,  Woo-Hoo!! The ironic thing is over at Catherine and Cathy Create their first challenge is Fresh Beginnings….so there was  a reason I never was getting to posting my card. I had to wait for my own Fresh Beginning to post about before it made sense to do it!

So on to the fun challenge and card I made to go with it!

They had a picture to use as our inspiration with many beautiful and inviting spring colors.  It had green/blue. purple/pink white and touches of neutrals. Lots of good colors to draw from. The colors seemed to be perfect for a Mother’s Day card and even appeared to be very closely matched to the Paper Pumpkin card base we received in the March kit.  So here is what I came up with:

 photo 9fd684f8-1765-40b6-b56f-79ad82ffb7ce_zpsaf6037a5.jpg

 

It is a pretty simple card, but I do love how these colors came together.

Here are the supplies used (All Stampin’ Up Products):

  • Ink:  Costal Cabana, Crumb Cake and Raspberry Ripple
  • Cardstock: My Paper Pumpkin March Kit card with Costal Caban  and Whisper white stripes, Crumb Cake and Coastal Cabana.
  • Emblishments: Linen Thread and Raspberry Ripple button
  • Tools: Blossom Punch and Deco Labels dies
  • Stamps: Mixed Bunch Flowers and My Paper Pumpkin Kit April kit Mother’s day stamp

I am off to lay down and get some rest. Be sure to look for your own Fresh Beginnings!!

~Kristal

One thought on “Fresh Beginnings

Leave a Reply

