OWH Midweek Throwdown – April Showers bring May Flowers

Over at OWH the midweek throwdown is to make a card with flowers.  I had some ideas brewing in my head about what to make, but just got to make it tonight.  This challenge actually made me realize that I have very few stamp sets with flowers in them!  Well, I took care of that right quick and put in an order through my Stampin’ Up demonstrator for the Petite Petals Bundle.  🙂  But until that arrives, I will just have to use what is in my stash.  I do have the Mixed Bunch set from Stampin’  Up so I pulled that out and got to work:

 photo eb8554c0-2c1c-4f61-b111-448a90c9370e_zps2a9660cd.jpg

For the most part this was a pretty simple card. A little fussy with the cutting of the strips, but overall easily done. I tend to like to make things look a bit more contemporary which I believe is why I lean more toward non-flower stamp sets. This is not to say flowers can’t look totally current and now, but I just have more trouble creating them in that way. The block design and tiered stripes I used on this card was my attempt to make a contemporary look. So did I pull it off?

Supplies used (All Stampin’ Up Products):

  • Inks: Calypso Coral, Pool Party and Sahara Sand
  • Stamps: Mixed Bunch and Just Sayin’
  • Tools: Word Bubbles die
  • Emblishments: Candy Dots in the same colors as the inks used
  • Paper: Caylpso Coral and Pool Party with a white card base

Hope everyone is getting their weekend off to a great start!

~Kristal

One thought on “OWH Midweek Throwdown – April Showers bring May Flowers

Leave a Reply

