OWH Midweek Throwdown, Freshly Made Sketches and Fusion Card challenges

Whew, I made a card that fits three challenges! I have never done that before! It sure was fun though! I always like to try to participate in the OWH challenges whenever I can because then I know I am consistently adding to my stash for the soldiers. This week it is to make a missing you card. After recently finding Freshly Made Sketches challenge blog, I am really enjoying the inspiration it gives me to change up the appearance of my cards.  Lastly, I just found a new challenge site and when I saw their current challenge I knew I needed to try it. This is because I had not ever made a card with the colors in the current challenge. This new one is Fusion Card Challenge.  They have three options: use their color inspiration photo, or their sketch or both!  Since I wanted to use the sketch at Freshly Made Sketches, I decided to just use their color inspiration. So check it out!

 photo b8462096-e72e-4cb1-be54-16287a16c341_zps0a34d0b6.jpg

 

Here is the sketch posted at Freshly Made Sketches:

And here is the Fusion Card Challenge inspiration:

 

I love these bold colors! I don’t know why I don’t think to do more bold colors in my cards. Maybe this will spark a change in me! I am also trying to use different techniques whenever I can so I remember to use all the goodies I have in my craft room! This time I used my paper piercing set. I have very rarely used it and I really like that little extra something it adds to the card. Hope you like it too and if you haven’t tried paper piercing, give it a try. You could really make all kinds of designs with it! As you can probably tell I turned my sketch  a different direction. I kept trying to put together exactly as shown and it just did not look right to me. When I made it all go long ways it just seemed to fit.  Sometimes that is how it goes!!

Happy Crafting everyone!

~Kristal

Supplies used:

  • Paper: Stampin’ Up Crushed Curry, Basic Black and Whisper White cardstock, Teresa Collins Summer Stories Pattered Paper.
  • Ink: Stampin’ Up Crushed Curry
  • Embellishments: We R Memory Keepers Sew Easy black floss, Stampin’ Up Whisper White Candy Dots, Unknown Brand Washi tape – yellow pattered and black and white dots
  • Tools: Stampin’ Up Window Framelit Dies and Itty Bitty Shapes Punch Pack. 1/2 inch circle punch by McGill Creavitivity
7 thoughts on “OWH Midweek Throwdown, Freshly Made Sketches and Fusion Card challenges

  1. Kristal, I ADORE what you have done, GORGEOUS bold black and DIVINE paper piercing, with the cutest as a button bard centered bloom -GAhhh just DELISH!!!

    Thanks so much for joining us at FUSION, we love seeing your wonderful creations, I hope that you are inspired to join us again!

  2. This is such a pretty card! You did a fabulous job of combining the three challenges! I love the details, especially all of the PERFECT paper piercing! Thanks for sharing with us at Freshly Made Sketches!

Leave a Reply

