Throw back to the 80’s for the Scrap Our Stash challenge

Happy Friday Peeps!

Over at Scrap our Stash there is a new challenge to create a background using cardstock, a stencil and some form of medium from my stash. I have been strictly working on my wedding album for nearly two years now. Although I have only a few pages left to finish, I have been itching to work on something new.  So I decided I was going to dig through my OLD photos and do something fun. My high school days!!  Some of my favorite memories are from the 80’s. I can not stop listening to music the from that time. In fact, if you need a great online radio station for really varied 80’s music, check out  www.flashbackradio.com. I listen to them all the time. Anyway, I decided to see if I could really make my page look like it was made in the 80’s as best I can.  Here is the result:

 

 photo 80a4e29b-b92b-4ed4-b24d-c69e90b53ccf_zps7601b0bb.jpg

Isn’t this page Totally Awesome?! 😉 To make this layout I used the Blocks 5×8 stencil from Dylusions. I stamped the stencil with Colorbox pigment ink that came in a three pack called Cat’s Eye. I also used Dylusions Spray inks in Polished Jade and Lemon Zest. The Cardstock is American Crafts paper, but I do not know the color names. The Black and White checked background paper is from Any Tangerine Plus One line. The Remember wood veneer was inked in the Cat’s Eye ink (the three pack had Pink, Purple and Silver) and is from Elle’s Studio. The chipboard numbers are American Crafts Thickers. I used my Stampin’ up On Film framelit die to make polariod frames around my pictures and then stamped paint splatters with the Stampin’ Up Gorgeous Grunge set. The embellishments are various wood veneers and sequins I had around. Last are the fun circle cut outs. It is not easy to find embellishments that are 80’s themed these days so, I just did an internet search for things I could download and printed them on cardstock and cut them out with my circle dies.

I hope you like this page and it inspires to remember to scrap those old photos once in a while too!!

~Kristal

10 thoughts on “Throw back to the 80’s for the Scrap Our Stash challenge

  1. Totally Rad ! You did a wonderful job bringing the 80’s back in your layout . So many elements all blended so well, what fun!

  2. Oh yes, it is like so awesome girl! 😉 I LOVE how you scrapped about the 80s too. That was my high school graduation year, lol. Fantastic take on the challenge and awesome background! Thanks for playing along with us at Scrap Our Stash! 🙂

Leave a Reply

