OWH Sketch Challenge #225 and Just Us Girls Color Challenge #241

Happy Monday!

I was too busy to post yesterday, but I did get in some crafting with two fun challenges. I started back to work today on a part time basis.  With my recent back injury I had not been working for about 5 weeks.  I wanted to get in some crafting one more time as I may not have the ability to do it so much with being back at work. I have a herniated disk and sitting is the absolute worst position for that. Of course, I sit for many hours in my job so this may prove to be a challenge. I will work part time for a few weeks and if I can’t even handle that, then surgery is like going to happen. Fingers crossed that won’t be needed!

Okay on to the crafting!  Here is the card:

 photo 41fd7103-2d91-4b02-b873-60440529ec01_zps512ba32b.jpg

Such a fun layout for the sketch challenge this week at OWH! Here is the actual sketch I used:
 photo OWHsketchchallenge225_zps2dbc311d.jpg

I kept my card pretty close to the sketch, just added more layers. I tend to really like my layers!

Over at Just Us Girls, the color challenge was to use Kraft, Orchid, and White. Pretty colors! I originally wanted to make this a love card because that is something OWH often needs, but I could not find a stamp that fit properly in the square layers. So even though there is a heart theme, it is still a birthday card. I believe it still works, what do you think?  I love the little wood veneer hearts. I really hope it will be okay for OWH because thickness can be a concern. I did try to spread them out on the card so that the thickness is equal because this is the suggestion when using raised layers or embellishments for OWH cards.

Hope you have a wonderful Monday and find some time to create this week!

~Kristal

Supplies used:

  • Paper:  Stampin’ Up colors:  Wisteria Wonder, Crumb Cake and Whisper White.  Patterned paper is Cut and Paste Amy Tangerine line by American Crafts
  • Ink: Stampin’ Up Wisteria Wonder
  • Tools:  Stampin’ Up Artisan Label Punch, Starburst framelit dies and circle dies. I also used some smaller circle punches in 1/2 inch and 3/4 inch sizes. Stampin’ Up Corner rounder punch
  • Embellishments: We R Memory keepers Sew easy purple floss,  Stampin’ Up essentials wooden elements and Elle’s Studio wood veneers

 

7 thoughts on “OWH Sketch Challenge #225 and Just Us Girls Color Challenge #241

  1. So sorry to hear about your back. Nothing worse then back or neck pain! I wish you the best of luck with that! Your card is really nice! The added hearts and purple twine are nice accents! Thanks for playing along with us over at Just Us Girls!

  2. Kristal,

    I too am so sorry to hear about your back. Hang in there.

    On a much happier note, I love your card. The palette is so pretty and your hearts are perfect embellishments.

  3. Thank you Nancy and Sybrina for your kind words about my back injury. This is the second time I have injured this spot in my back so I am still hoping to avoid a second surgery.

  4. Best of luck in going back to work and hoping you don’t end up requiring surgery….
    The little wood embellishments are the perfect finishing touch to this lovely color challenge/sketch challenge card.

  5. I hope your back is better. Nothing is worse than back pain. But your card is so pretty! Love how you used the challenge colors! Thanks for playing with Just Us Girls!

  6. I’m sorry to hear about your back. How miserable! Your card is simply lovely! I really like your soft color choices and the different elements used for the circles in the sketch. Wonderful job!

Leave a Reply

