My Final Graduation card for Freshly Made Sketches Challenge 140

I am finally getting back to some crafting at the very end of this week. Didn’t quite feel good enough until now, but I am always glad to fit it in when I can!

I had one last graduation card to get done so I decided to look for some inspiration on this one. Over at Freshly Made Sketches they had a nice sketch challenge I thought would be fun to try.

Here is my take on it:

 

 photo e283788f-bb26-4536-904c-441e9afb4438_zpsf1738496.jpg

Here is the sketch:

For this card I had to get a little creative with my supplies… I wanted to use the school colors for this card, however I didn’t really have the right ones. Then I was going to make a background layer of blue, but I didn’t even have the right color for that either!  I decided I was going to find a way to make it work. So I used Island Indigo and slightly stamped off some of the ink to make it look more like his school colors. I decided to really play up the silver and used that as my background paper instead. Also there are three layers of ribbon on this card, not five.  Two of the stripes were made using a versamark pen and then heat embossed with silver powder. It looks a little rugged but I think I almost like it that way. Funny how sometimes things don’t come out as you planned but you like them anyway!

Hope everyone is having a great weekend!

~Kristal

Supplies used:

  • Ink: Stampin’ Up Island Indigo, Versamark Pen and Silver embossing powder
  • Paper: Stampin’ Up Whisper White and Silver Metallic paper I had in my stash
  • Stamps: Stampin’ Up Pure Gumption stamp set
  • Embellishments: Stampin’ Up Ribbons in Island Indigo Ribbon and Silver. Loose sequins I had in my stash
  • Corner Rounder punch, Heat gun and a paper trimmer

 

4 thoughts on “My Final Graduation card for Freshly Made Sketches Challenge 140

  1. What a great graduation card! Love the sentiment you’ve used – it’s not one I’ve seen before. The sequins are a lovely addition too! Thanks for joining us at Freshly Made Sketches this week!

Leave a Reply

