Stampin’ Up! Star Shaker card

Hi there crafty folks!

I had a busy Sunday today. Grocery shopping, Garage cleaning and organizing and some cooking. We have to get our garage in order as winter gets near here in the Chicago area, because you don’t want to have to go out there when it is COLD. After getting all that not-fun stuff done, I got to be crafty! YAY! I have had so little time for it lately so it really makes me happy.  Today I decided to try something I have seen many others do, but was too afraid to try. A shaker card. They looked really intimidating to me, but it turns out they aren’t that bad if you have all the right supplies.  I even decided to try a star shape so here is how it turned out:

 photo 493bd5a2-293c-4a10-8f34-cf8e49a92064_zps5b5066a1.jpg

I also decided to add a little extra something to the inside:

 photo 588d965c-ba82-43ee-9e61-c052e37b1e10_zpsd2c496ad.jpg

Given it is my first one ever, I am pretty pleased with it! I do think on the next one I make I will add more sequins though. The key to making these is to be sure you have foam with sticky on each sides to raise up the area you want to include the sequins. You would also need acetate sheets. Stampin’ up has these handy foam circles called Shaker Frames that are meant just for shaker cards. It worked out fine to use it with the Star shape too as I just cut little pieces to fit each point of the star. If you haven’t tried to make one of these I encourage you to give it a try. People tend to be pretty wowed by them when they receive one! If you need the supplies then let me know, Stampin’s up sells everything you need to make this card!

Even though this card does not follow the theme this week, I am entering in in the Christmas Card Challenge Blog. Their only true requirements is to make a Christmas card so what the heck!

Hope you had a great weekend and find time to be crafty this week when you can!

~Kristal

Supplies used:

  • Ink: Cherry Cobbler
  • Paper: Kraft Cardstock, Under the Tree DSP, Trim the Tree DSP and Whisper White
  • Stamp Sets: Good Greetings  and Merry Everything
  • Tools: Star Framelit Dies, Acetate Sheets, Shaker Frames, paper trimmer and Hexagon punch to make the banner
  • Embellishments: Gold Sequin Trim (sequins removed), Gold 1/8 inch ribbon and Rhinestone Basic Jewels
Leave a Reply

