Birthday Bokeh Balloons Card

Happy Sunday!

I tried out a new technique yesterday and decided I had to share it.  Have you heard of Bokeh? It is mostly used in photography and it is the visual quality of the out-of-focus areas of a photographic image. I have seen other use this technique in some card making so I wanted to try it myself. Obviously using Bokeh in stamping is not exactly the same but more of an inspiration. I actually learned this technique by watching video’s on Stamping School.  If you aren’t a member, consider becoming one because I learn something new from them every week!

f777c427-fe9c-48a8-b921-aa584641edec_zps0gclbtke

The blues and greens make it a very versatile birthday card.  The Dotty Angles stamp set has the perfect stamp for making a Bokeh appearance with the dots.  You simply stamp off 3 to 4 times randomly on the paper without re-inking and it come out looking like this! Couldn’t be much easier, right?  I am truly loving the new Celebrate Today stamp set for making birthday cards. There is just so much you can do with it, especially since it comes with matching framelits!  I decided to emboss the paper with two different dot themed embossing folders to match the dots them on the paper.  I used Soft Sky, Pool Party and Wild Wasabi so the new Painted Blooms Cotton Twine matched perfectly for making the balloon strings!

I hope  you get to try making a Bokeh look on your cards too!

I am entering this card over at Die Cut Diva’s since their current challenge isWords, Quotes and Sentiments. I am also entering this card at Seize The Birthday challenge. I am not following their current theme, but since they accept birthday card themes all the time, what the heck!

Go get crafty today!

~Kristal

Supplies Used:

Leave a Reply

