Easter card with another Bokeh Technique

Hi Crafty Friends!

I have been sooo busy and unable to post for over a week! First I went to a Scrapbook retreat and I was busy getting my projects done I barely got on the internet! Now I am on vacation and rarely have access to wifi. So while I had the ability to do it I thought I would post one of the fun things I made during the scrapbook retreat. Another card which features the Bokeh technique. This one is more like the what I am seeing many others do rather than the slightly easier version I posted before. You can see it by clicking here.

This was fun to make but takes a little patience. Check it out:

Kristal's Easter Card

This card requires a number of ink colors, of your choice, and you need to make a circle template. For my card I used So Saffron, Crisp Cantaloupe, Wisteria Wonder and Pistachio Pudding. You also need white ink and I used the Whisper White Craft ink. Using craft ink means it takes a bit longer to dry which is where the patience comes into play ;-) .  To make it I used sponges and used a circular motion to randomly apply all for main colors to may background. I made sure to make it darker in some spots and lighter in others so it would appear to be a varied color background.  To make the “bokeh” appearance I then punch out circles of many sizes (1/2 inch all the way up to 2 inch) and used the negative to sponge in the white ink through each size circle. I also randomly added the inked up circles and tried to add more ink on some and less ink on others so it would look as though it is a bit blurred. Once I liked the appearance I let it dry. Well, Actually I took my heat dryer to it for a while but since I used different amounts of ink for the white it needed some time to air dry as well.  When the card was completely dry I added a layer of white paper and a layer of the chevron paper in so saffron with the Crisp Cantaloupe Twine.  The main stamp set used is For Peep’s Sake and the little flower is from A Happy Hooray. I just really liked the way that flower looked with the Chick.

I encourage you to give this bokeh technique a try because it really makes you feel artistic!

I am entering this card over at Stampin Up Only Challenge since their current them is Easter is on the way!

Well, I am off to go enjoy some time in the sun because I am Texas and it is much warmer then my home area of Chicago!  I will be back to post more fun things when I return from my time away!

~Kristal

Supplies used:

Leave a Reply

