Gift Card Holder Birthday Card with a Decorative Bag

Happy Thursday!

I am back again sharing something I learned in Stamping School!  I seem to be on a roll lately learning things from Ms. Linda Heller. I will try my best to explain how I made the card, but the best way to learn is to go watch her video at Stamping School!

6c36aa98-9a0c-4ce5-ba1b-74a7d785bf83_zpsuqtpgkzp

Isn’t this fun?!To make this card you will need some kind of decorative paper bag. Something that is not too thick is best. The bag used for my card is one of the Polka Dot Tag a Bag Gift Bags. There are 10 per pack and cutting this just right gives you the option to make 4 gift card holders per bag. That is a lot of gift card holders!  I chose to save some of my bags for other projects though.

To make the bag you need to make two score lines lengthwise from top to bottom just far enough in to leave room for your gift card. Some cards are different sizes, so use your gift card as a guide for where to put each score line when you are making it.  Once scored, you cut the bag in half perpendicular to the score line you just made.  For the bottom portion of the bag you can cut off the part that is adhered to make to separate pieces from the back and front. The top part will already be in two pieces so there you have your 4 parts of the bag for making four gift card holders.  Now all you have to do is fold in the sides where you scored and the fold in the bottom to make the card holder.  For the top of the bag you already have a decorative edge, but I used the bottom of my bag so I used my scallop punch to make it pretty. The rest of the card is really just adding the details you like.  I chose to make mine a birthday card and used the new Celebrate Today set and paired it with the Birthday Bash Paper and the Lucky Stars Textured Impressions Embossing Folder. Now I am ready for the next birthday gift I need to send to someone far away with no extra postage for a bulky gift!

Over at The Paper Players Blog they have a fun tic tac toe challenge that helped me decide on some of my elements in the card. Here is the board to follow for the challenge:

Tic Tac toe Challenge paper Players

I am entering my card for: Dry/Wet Embossing, Any Shade of Blue and Polka Dots!  It is so fun to follow these type of challenges!

I hope I have been able to give you some explanation on how to make this card, but if you are confused you can always learn more at Stamping School!

Have a wonderful Easter weekend!

~Kristal

Supplies Used:

Leave a Reply

