Cellophane ink blot technique, Card Challenges and no shipping from Stampin’ up!

Happy Easter!!

I hope you are having a wonderful Easter!  The weather in Chicago is beautiful today and I have already been outside enjoying it for a bit. But now I am back in my craft room for the day! My family lives pretty far from me so I am missing out on all the Easter celebrations, but I am with them in spirit!

I have lots to share today! I tried something new this past week Cellophane and Ink. It is actually a technique I have seen done more often in scrapbooking, but I wanted to see how it would come out on a card. Now, I think the look of this won’t be for everyone, but I really like an abstract look so I thought it came out pretty cool. I am really not sure of the accurate name of this technique, but I am calling it the Cellophane Ink Blot Technique!

cd3f12fd-07a9-4f1f-91e2-2f969e764560_zpsxnicgrz5

To make this card I started with just plan Whisper White card stock. Then I grabbed a leftover cellophane bag that some of my stickers or embellishments came in and stamped silver ink onto the bag. I then spritzed that with a little water. I still have not yet learned how to do videos so here are a just a few pics to help with the explanation:

acc1048a-8190-4f4a-9c8e-76e569df0dec_zpsncoae98o20150401_204442_zpsqedk2ums

Once you spritz the water onto the ink you just rub the bag together to smoosh the ink around.  I chose to add just a little bit of iridescent ice embossing powder to see what would happen and give it some sparkle. I actually think it made it even cooler looking because the grit of the powder made it come out more marbled looking! Here is what it looked like when I took the cellphane and laid it directly onto my cardstock:

d155d6ed-5f75-4089-8234-9f17cff18e4c_zpss1bwesvr

I chose to only do the top area since iIknew I would add paper to the bottom of the card. Once I added the ink I heat dried it which really added to that marble effect. I am sure you can do this with all kinds of colors and it would turn out looking pretty cool, so give it a try!

The rest of the card came together pretty easy with my star framelits and the Be The Star Stamp set. I also thought it was kinda fun to use the Hexagon punch like a word frame for my sentiment!

I got the layout idea for this card over at Freshly Made Sketches and the color idea over at Colour Me. Here is the sketch  and color guidelines for these challenges this week:

FMS180

CMCC Full Graphics-013

I am entering this card for both challenges. We will see what happens!

Now, I must tell you the latest news for Stampin’ Up! Starting tomorrow they are offering FREE shipping on practically EVERYTHING through April 10! The free shipping is excluded for  expedited orders and Paper Pumpkin subscriptions, but everything else is included. That means you can get a really big order and not pay ANY shipping.  Needless to say, I will be ordering some supplies myself to take advantage of this great deal! If you need anything feel free to order at my Stampin’ Up Website or call me at 847-854-7934!

Thanks for stopping by today and have a wonderful Easter!

~Kristal

Supplies used:

One thought on “Cellophane ink blot technique, Card Challenges and no shipping from Stampin’ up!

Leave a Reply

