Stampin’ Up Boxed Set is Perfect for a Mother’s day Gift!

Happy Saturday!

After reviewing the retired list Stampin’ Up! came out with this week I realized I have a fair number of sets that are retiring. I also have some punches, paper, and ribbon that are all going too. I likely won’t be able to keep all my retired items because I need to get some of the new stuff too (I use the word need loosely). Knowing some of my favorite items will be going away it seemed like a good time to find ways to use things up for a good cause. I remembered seeing some fun ideas over at Stamping School about making a set of cards to give to someone as a gift with an adorable box in which to to house the cards.  What a great way to use up some of my paper and have a gift ready to go.  I found the perfect set for this project. It is the Label Love stamp set since it has most of the major occasions included in the set.  It also has a matching punch which makes it quick and easy to use.  Here is my gift set:

00b5cdfa-13d8-4b9a-9030-2e6cbd583a67_zpspso8nugk

I chose to use the Park Lane DSP(retiring) for this set. I really believe that each of Stampin’ Up’s Designer Series Paper packs can be used for many occasions. This is well demonstrated here as I was able to make a birthday card, wedding card, baby card, thank you card and a general use card all from the same paper pack.  Here are some close up pictures so you can see the detail of the cards and the box better:

e0ac9c15-32de-4339-b6e0-cc3f8a816622_zpsdztznwic

b7c34e04-d111-4961-b58d-96248ab7b2e4_zpst8rzyrsz

77f5452a-5c62-4cd1-895e-114a33330b9c_zpssqqpzfpb

My favorite is the wedding card. I normally would not think to use this green with a wedding card but I think it sure turned out pretty. I used that pretty Irresistably Yours white paper that was part of Sale-A-Bration as the bottom layer for these two cards rather than making it embossed.   The Label Love set(retiring) does not have a Thank You Sentiment so I used the blank stamp that comes in the set and a thank you sentiment in the Petite Pairs set and then punched it out with my one inch circle punch as that fits perfectly with this stamp.  All of the sentiments from Label Love are punched out with the Artisan Punch (retiring) and layered with the smallest die from the Labels Collection Framelits (retiring).

I wanted to be sure and make the cards very simple for two reasons. First, you never know if people receiving this as a gift like busy or simple so it is safest to go with simple. Second, I wanted it to fit nicely in my box and also have room for the envelopes.  It definitely fits great as you can see here:

7107ac43-f362-435f-86b7-9127d1b897b3_zpsbqefbdwq

I have five envelopes at the bottom of the cards in this picture.

Now just a little more info about the box.  This box was made to fit A2 cards or 5 1/2 x 4 1/4 cards.  To make the top you need to cut your paper at        6 3/4 x 8. Then you score at 1 inch on all four sides.  The base takes a slight smaller measurement to ensure the top slides on well. The measurement for the bottom is 6 5/8 x 7 7/8. Once you have the bottom cut you should also be able to score it at 1 inch on all four sides and they will match up. After you have scored you will have to snip a small portion of the score line on the lengthwise part of the paper. See below:

Card box instructions

Hopefully this helps it to make sense.  Once you made your four snips you can just adhere each side with glue so the tabs go in the box. I used Tombow Multi-Liquid glue. You could use what you like, just be sure it is is strong! I am not sure the Tombow snail will hold…

For the top decoration I just chose more of the paper I liked and added ribbon and flowers to make it pretty.

I am going to give this gift set to my Mother-n-Law as an add on for a Mother’s Day gift. I sure hope she likes it!

I hope you are getting to be crafty this weekend!

~Kristal

Supplies used:

Leave a Reply

