Shadow Box Mother’s Day Card

Happy Sunday!

Yesterday I shared a great gift idea for Mother’s Day, but of course I need a card to go with my gift! I tried something new with this card.  Not sure if my term “shadow box”  is the most accurate way to describe it, but I think it is pretty close.

0bf4020e-55d5-4784-8d81-7bb47f68683d_zps26gmyrr0

A pretty, flowery card perfect for mom. You can see I have the top layer of paper raised up on dimensionals so I can have flowers peeking through underneath. There is a little trick to lining up the flowers on the base layer to peek through the top layer. What I did is first punched out the flowers where I wanted them on the top layer. Then I layed the top layer on the base layer and took a pencil to trace where the outline of the flower would go. That way I can tell exactly where I need to put the stamped flower on the base layer.  I believe you could also just stamp on the base layer and then erase the tracing you did as long as you trace lightly. I am sure just a stamped image would look nice on the base layer too.  I decided to add a small strip of designer paper and scalloped edge using my Scallop Edge Border Punch (retiring) to give the card more pizzazz. I then added punched out flowers on top randomly until I liked the appearance.  I finished of by adding some Pistachio Pudding Thick Baker’s Twine (retiring) and the Best Mother Ever Sentiment from the And Many More stamp set. The sentiment is punched out with the Modern Label Punch (retiring) and the paper used is the Gold Soiree DSP (retiring).

Give this a try with your own punch shapes and see what kind of pretty creations you can come up with!

I am entering this card over at Just us Girls Blog this week as they have a pretty picture inspiration photo for their current challenge:

Just us girls 290

Those are some pretty flowers!!

Hope you have a springy, happy Sunday!

~Kristal

Supplies used:

Leave a Reply

