Send well wishes with the Stampin’ Up Butterfly Thinlits

Happy Friday all!

Isn’t it just wonderful that it is Friday?  I have nothing planned this weekend so I am hoping to get some spring cleaning done and of course some crafty time too!

I needed to make time to be crafty tonight because I just recently found out a friend had surgery. Of course I want to send her a little get well greeting to cheer her up.  I finally got those beautiful butterfly thinlits from Stampin’ Up  and decided they would be the perfect thing for a get well card.

d5277912-5494-4530-a9f8-d0004d2fb394_zpsarne8yzw

I was looking for inspiration at some of the typical websites I follow.  Over at Fusion Card Challenge I decided to follow their photo, only I wanted just a little more of a pop of color so I chose to use Bermuda Bay rather than a gray color.   Here is the challenge photo:

Fusion challenge May 2015

I also decided to use the butterflies after I saw the Challenge Theme over at CASology. The current them is Shape. My shape is, of course, the butterfly! I am entering this card in both challenges.

I used lots of stamp sets and colors for this card even though some of it is hard to see. It is essentially a one layer card with a strip of gold paper, which I scalloped with my Scalloped Edge Punch (retiring), and a straight strip of Bermuda Bay. Underneath the strips of paper I stamped the lines from the Gorgeous Grunge set and the flowery vine from the Thoughts and Prayers set. In the corners I stamp paint splotches from Gorgeous grunge and then stamped and punched out the flowers from Pictogram Punches.  I stamped with the following colors:  Crumb Cake, Sahara Sand, So Saffron and Bermuda bay. Since this is a one layer card it took me a minute to think about how I would add the linen thread around the card. then I decided I would just punch small hole on the folded edge and thread it through. It goes all the way around so it shows up in the inside of the card, but it looks great! I also added the extra loops of the linen thread. I just love the way that looks.

I hope you have a wonderful weekend and find some time to create!

~Kristal

Supplies Used:

Leave a Reply

