A Little Birdie Birthday Card

It’s Monday again already?  Where did my weekend go? Sigh.  Back to the grind I guess. Thankfully, I did have some creative time this weekend to make the start of my work week a little more tolerable.

I am always looking for good birthday card ideas that make me use sets I forget about, or maybe use the sets I have in different ways.  Over at Addicted to CAS the new theme is Birds.  I remembered I have this adorable stamp set with birds that I  rarely use so it seemed like the perfect choice for this challenge.

Hello Love Stamp set

That little bird just makes me smile!  He is too cute! To make this card I used the Hello Love stamp set, This is actually a Hostess set from Stampin’ Up and it won’t be around much longer. So if you like it, plan a workshop so you can earn it! It comes with the great sentiment and word bubble stamp too.  I did cut that out with my Word Bubble Framelits (also retiring).   I used the Thoughts and Prayers set to stamp the branch. I wanted various colors on the branch, so I used markers to color it in. I used Chocolate Chip for the branch, Garden Green for the leaves and Calypso Coral for the flowers.   The little pearls in the flowers really give it that extra something special.  To make my bird, I stamped him in black and the cut him out. I cut off his feet and little hair on top, but I stamped him again right onto the card so the feet and little sprigs of hair would show with my cut out on top.  I colored him with the Daffodil Delight blendabilities.  These are no longer available, but you could easily color him with blender pens and ink instead to get the same look. Everything is stamped on Whisper White paper, but I used a sponge with Soft Sky to add color to the card to make it appear like the branch is in the sky.  On the inside of the card It says It’s your birthday.  Here is a picture of that too:

Hello Love Stamp Set 2

I am going to enter this card in the challenge at Addicted To CAS. It appears they are also having a Design Team call so what the heck, I will give that a try too!

I hope your week goes smoothly and you find time to be creative!

~Kristal

Supplies used:

Leave a Reply

