Fun with Watercolor and the Stampin’ Up! Big News stamp set

Good Morning Crafty folks!

I finally got in a little bit of craft time yesterday after a hectic work week.  I received a new shipment of Stampin’ Up goodies not too long ago, but I didn’t have time to play until this weekend!  I was excited to try the new Brushstrokes stamp because it looks so versatile.  I even plan to use this one in my scrapbooking too.

Stampin Up Brushstrokes and Big News stamp sets

To make this card I stamped So Saffron on the top part of the stamp and Soft Sky on the bottom letting them slightly overlap in the middle. Now, I did get a little bit of ink from one stamp pad to another, but I chose to do the So Saffron first and then only a tiny bit of that got on my Soft Sky pad. I quickly wiped the top area of the pad where the So Saffron was on it and it turned out to be no problem.  This stamp already has a watercolor appearance to it, but I wanted to take it a step further so I lightly sprayed two spritz of water on each color area.  Since I used such a small amount of water, I did not even need to use watercolor paper.  I cut out the frame in So Saffron using the Deco Labels framelits and then sponged So Saffron ink around the edges.  For the sentiment, I simply cut it out to fit the words and then corner rounded it to make it fit better.  The cute little star, flower and heart stamps are from the Something To Say stamp set and are punched out using the Itty Bitty Accents Punch Pack.  I then finished it off with the Painted Blooms Cotton Twine in Soft Sky. This was in the Occasions Catalog that just ended and is no longer available. A good substitute would be to just use the Whisper White Baker’s Twine.

I got some inspiration for this card over at Sunday Stamps as they have a sketch I followed. Here is the the sketch:

Sunday Stamps Sketch 104

I loosely followed it since I decided to turn my card to be in the portrait position.

I hope you have a wonderful week and, as always, find some time to be crafty!

~Kristal

Supplies used:

Leave a Reply

