Using Stampin’ Up! Build a Birthday stamp set to make something a little different!

Happy Tuesday!

I hope your week has started out smoothly. For me, last week and weekend was just a little crazy! We needed to go get some new furniture for our youngest daughter. We decided to get it from Ikea because they had a style she liked and it is reasonably priced.  It took us FOREVER to get her old furniture out of the room and the new stuff step and in the room.  It is all done now, but needless to say I had no crafty time at all.

Thankfully, I was able to make something quick.  I had a goal in mind. I wanted to use a stamp set I have in a slightly different way than one might automatically think of when working with the set.  I chose the Build a Birthday stamp set because when you look at that set you automatically either see a cake or large candles.  So after some trial and error, I came up with this:

Stampin' Up Build a Birthday

Those little flags are from the Build a Birthday stamp set. I just stamped them all around in a circle to make an interesting stamped element!  I added in a sentiment from Amazing Birthday and popped it up with dimensionals.  On the left side of the card I used the pretty new Lost Lagoon Striped Cotton Ribbon and some of the striking Silver Metallic Thread.  I topped all of it off with a silver button and underneath that is clip from the prior catalog. Though that clip is no longer available, you could use some silver or smokey slate paper and shape that into a banner and it would look nearly the same!

So do you ever try to think up new and different ways to use your stamp sets?  If so, please share your ideas with me in the comments!  I always love to know how to get more use out of my favorite stamp sets.

I am entering this card in the challenge over at SUO challenge blog. The current theme is favorite new stamps sets and Build a Birthday is definitely one of my favorites!

The new weekly deals have started today so here there are:

weekly deals banner

Weekly deals July 28 thru August 3 2015 pg 1

Weekly deals July 28 thru August 3 2015 pg 2

Remember, many of these items have limited numbers available at this price so don’t wait to get what you need or you may miss out!

Hope you get to have a crafty week!

~Kristal

Supplies used:

Leave a Reply

