Be The Star with the Bokeh Technique

Happy Sunday!

I am taking a day off from Halloween goodies to share another bokeh card I made. I previously made a card using the bokeh technique earlier this year. You can see it by clicking here. I decided I wanted to try it again, but  I changed it up a little by using stars instead!

Big News Bokeh

I like the star variation very much.  Have you tried the Bokeh technique yet?  It really isn’t difficult, but it sure gives your card a pretty POW! To make this card I started with a piece of Very Vanilla cardstock. I then used a sponge to color in the cardstock with Lost Lagoon, Hello Honey and a little Tangelo Twist between the transitioning colors. I put the color on with a circular motion and kept melding the colors together until I liked how it looked. Once that was dry I took a piece of paper and cut out all the different size stars I wanted to use to make a stencil.  It looks like this:

star template

I then placed that on top of my card and randomly sponged in the stars with Craft White ink. I overlapped many of the stars as this is what really makes it have more of a bokeh appearance.  The craft ink needs a fair amount of time to dry so I set it aside for about an hour and then came back to finish the card. The sentiment is from The Big News stamp set and the star is from the Be The Star stamp set.  These are stamped in Lost Lagoon and Hello Honey.  I added the pretty 5/8 inch striped cotton ribbon and some Rhinestones to finish it off.

I am entering this card into the challenge over at the Fusion Card Challenge blog. The blues and yellows in their inspiration picture really helped me pick the colors I wanted to use on this card. Here is the Fusion inspiration I used:

fusion sketch 9-27-15

I hope you find some time to be crafty today and thanks for stopping by!

~Kristal

Supplies used:

Leave a Reply

