Dual purpose Christmas: a Tag and a Card in one!

Hello Crafty Friends,

I am finally back to share a creation with you.  I know it has been a while since I posted, but hopefully this one will be worth the wait!

I am always looking for ways to make my cards new and different. I also enjoy making tags. I started thinking, why not incorporate both in such a way that the recipient can actually use the tag on one of their gifts!

Here is my finished card:

Tree punch tag

This card is one with no sentiment, but I plan to put a nice greeting on the inside.  You see the button?  I actually poked holes into the paper with my paper piercing tool and then used the gold metallic thread to “sew” the button on. You can see I have a layer of Very Vanilla paper and then a layer of the Winter Wonderland Specialty DSP over that.  I only “sewed” the button through those two layers so it would not show through on the base of the card. I did attach the button relatively tight so I could loop the Real Red Cotton Ribbon around the button so it would stay.  Here is a close up of that:

tag card

Once I had it looped around the button well, I simply tied a bow on the front of the tag to keep the tag on the card. To make the tag I used the Ornate Tag Topper punch and layered it with a Snowflake design from the Winter Wonderland Vellum.  I also added a banner behind the tree with Gold Foil Paper and a layer of the same vellum.  I topped it off  with a tree punched out of Gold Glimmer paper using the Tree punch and Red Foil paper punched with the star from the Itty Bitty Accents Punch Pack. Once the tag is removed here is what the card would look like:

Tag card disassembled

As you can see it is easy for the recipient to use the ribbon for the tag. I forgot to take a picture of this but, I added a circle punched out of Very Vanilla to the back of the card with a To: and From:  spot so the individual can write the names on the tag.

I hope you like this card!  It was easier to make than it sounds and really does make your card do double duty!

It is Tuesday so I want to be sure to post the weekly deals!

weekly deals banner

 

Weekly deals Dec 1 thru Dec 7 2015

The Gold Glimmer paper I used to make the tree is on sale! Woohoo!

I have you had a wonderful Thanksgiving and find time to be crafty!

~Kristal

Supplies used:

Winter Wonderland Designer Vellum Stack – 139594

Price: $10.00

Winter Wonderland Specialty Designer Series Paper – 139588

Price: $13.00

Very Vanilla 8-1/2″ X 11″ Cardstock – 101650

Price: $8.50

Real Red 8-1/2″ X 11″ Cardstock – 102482

Price: $7.00

Gold Glimmer Paper – 133719

Price: $5.00

Red Foil Sheets – 139607

Price: $4.00

Real Red 1/4″ Cotton Ribbon – 134563

Price: $6.00

Gold Metallic Thread – 138401

Price: $3.00

Gold Basic Metal Buttons – 133763

Price: $8.00

Ornate Tag Topper Punch – 137416

Price: $23.00

Itty Bitty Accents Punch Pack – 133787

Price: $17.00

Tree Punch – 135859

Price: $18.00

Hexagon Punch – 130919

Price: $16.00

Paper-Piercing Tool – 126189

Price: $4.00

Stampin’ Pierce Mat – 126199

Price: $5.00

Stampin’ Trimmer – 126889

Price: $30.00

Paper Snips – 103579

Price: $10.00

Snail Permanent Adhesive – 104332

Price: $7.00

Stampin’ Dimensionals – 104430

Price: $4.00

Supply List Built for Free Using: My Stampin Blog

Leave a Reply

