My Valentine is a Beautiful Ride!

Hello my friends!

The weekend is almost here!  You would not believe what I am about to do….go camping! Yes, in the middle of February I am going camping!  I live near Chicago, but I am traveling six hours south to my hometown for a Girl Scout reunion at the summer camp I worked at oh so many years ago.  The good news is I will be in a cabin and a little further south than Chicago!  I am even bring my card supplies so me and my fellow former scouts can make cards!

Now onto the the Valentine!

When I saw the Beautiful Ride Stamp set, it was a must have.  You see, my husband and I play slugbug every single time we are in the car together.  Everyday starts a new “contest” and whoever claims the most slugbugs by the end of the day wins.  We have some additional fun rules like Geek Squad mobiles are worth double points. So it was not even a question that his Valentine had to be a slug bug car.

Beautiful Ride

I decided the car had to be red, since it IS his Valentine.  To color in the car I pushed into the top of my stamp pad (Real Red) and added a small amount of water. I then used a fine paint brush to add in the color.  Sometimes I use the aquapainter, but I was not using watercolor paper for this project so I wanted to control the amount of water a bit more.   I actually sponged in Soft Sky and Wild Wasabi as the sky and grass after I had already stamped and colored the car and I think it worked pretty well.   My husband has black hair and mine is quite dark brown so I tried to mimic that when coloring the people on the car. I used my blendabilities to color us in.  🙂  You can’t quite see it in the above picture, but I added lots of clear Wink of Stella to this card.  Here is the close up so you can see where:

SU Beautiful Ride

Hopefully you can see that I added Wink of Stella down the lines of the “my” hair, on the tires and on the silver foot rail.  It adds just enough sparkle to make the card a little more magical.  😉

My husband does not really get super excited about cards, but I think this Valentine just might get to him a little bit more than usual. heart clip

I hope you have a wonderful Valentine Weekend!

~Kristal

Supplies used:

Leave a Reply

