Fall/Back To School – Stampin’ Friends Blog Hop

Welcome to the Fall/Back to School Stampin’ Friends Blog Hop

Screen Shot 2016-06-04 at 4.16.24 PM

So glad you are checking out the Blog Hop! If you arrived from Steph Jandrow’s Blog, thank you for continuing with the hop! Don’t forget to click the Next Button to check out Yolanda Nixon’s amazing creations. PLUS, keep reading for a chance to win a bunch of new crafty prizes!

Screen Shot 2016-06-04 at 4.16.43 PM

This month we are excited to have three Awesome Guest Hoppers that you should definitely check out.

Yolanda Nixon

Barbara Welch

Mandy Reedyk

We are just starting to feel a little nip in the air in the Chicago area so making fall projects seemed like just the right thing to do. Stampin’ Up! has so many wonderful things to choose from to make fall projects it was almost hard to chose what to do! I settle with the fun Cookie Cutter Halloween Stamp set for my card and the beautiful Vintage Leaves for my 3-D project.

 

Halloween Scares scarecrow

This card has so many fun elements! I started by using Cajun Craze, Crushed Curry and So Saffron to make a pretty, fall evening sky. I then cut out various shaped hills in Soft Suede, Kraft and Early Espresso  card stock.  I used the Halloween Scene Edgelits to cut out the tree in Tip Top Taupe, the Fence in Early Espresso and pumpkins in Pumpkin Pie (stamped with Basic Black ink).  I needed to make the tree look as though it was further off in the distance since the scarecow is a on a slight bigger scale. I made the scarecrow’s post by stamping with with the Hardwood background stamp on Tip Top Taupe paper with Tip Top Taupe ink and cutting small strips of paper.  To color in my scarecrow I decided to use a very fine tip paint brush with just a little water added to my ink.  I stamped him using Basic Black Archival Ink on Watercolor paper. The colors used are: So Saffron, Crushed Curry, Old Olive and Cajun Craze. Lastly, I stamped the Crow in Basic Black and fussy cut him out so he could sit on the tree.  It turned out to be a pretty cute card!  I did not add a sentiment so I could decide at a later time what occasion may be the right fit for me.

Now onto the project!

Vintage Leaves Copper

This box is a good example of what you can do when you don’t have all your supplies with you!  I attended a paper crafting retreat and forgot to take my handy Gift Bag Punch Board. Never fear, you can still make one when this happens! Granted it is not quite as easy, but it can be done.  I started with a piece of Kraft Cardstock cut at 8 1/2″ x 10 1/5″.  I then turned it to landscape position and scored at 2-1/2”, 5”, 7-1/2” and 10”. Then turned the cardstock to portrait view and score at 2-1/2”.  Now all that was needed was to cut the flaps for the bottom of the box (the 2 1/2 scored part) and fold each score line in so that you make the bag! But of course, before do that you need to do the stamping!  I was looking forward to finally using my beautiful new Copper Embossing Powder and it did not disappoint.  It is so pretty.  I randomly stamped with the Vintage Leaves set using Versamark ink.  After heating the powder, I then used sponge daubers to color in each leaf using the following colors: Rich Razzelberry, Crushed Curry, Cajun Craze and Old Olive.  I did not want it to be perfect so I actually went outside of the leaves to give it a more “artsy” look. To make the label I used my Layered Circle Framelits to cut out a scalloped circle with the Copper Foil paper.  I layered that with Crushed curry and then used the Thoughtful Banners outline stamp and the Sentiment from Acorny Thank You to finish it off.  I made a belly band with Rich Razzelberry cardstock.  I stamped the acorn in those same colors and punched it out. I punched holes in my bag and tied it up with the Gold 1/4 inch Natural Trim.  I also added some Gold Thread around the acorn to finish things off.

I hope these projects give you some fall, crafting inspiration!

Don’t forget to comment for a chance to win this great Giveaway.

sf-hop-mystery-gift

Click Next to continue to the next hopper, and scroll down to the bottom for sales and a complete supply list.

Continue on the hop and increase your chances of winning by commenting on everyone’s post!

Screen Shot 2016-06-04 at 4.16.35 PM

 

I also need to report on some awesome new deals from stamping up! They have just added TONS of new things to the Clearance rack!!  Be sure to check out all the great items available up to 60% by clicking on the banner below!

clearance-rack

Somewhere along the way I missed this one.  Starting September 1st ANOTHER deal started. Sorry I didn’t tell you sooner!  Check out the additional goodies on sale here:

Thanks for checking out my blog!

~Kristal

Leave a Reply

