Stampin’ Up! Dragonfly Dreams Watercolor Fun!

Hello Crafty Friends!

Though my time for stamping is low these days, I try to fit it in every now and then.  I see so many beautiful things in the Stampin’ Up! catalog I want to buy it all! Since time is a factor, I try to pick my very favorite items.  This stamp set is one of them.  The minute I saw the Dragonfly Dreams Stamp set and matching Thinlits, I knew it had to be mine.  I have seen so many beautiful cards with this stamp set, I hope you find my card is one of them!

Dragonfly card

 

To make this card I used Mint Macaron as my card base.  I used the watercolor paper for the second layer.  This card shows how beautifully our new Watercolor Pencils turn your card into a little art masterpiece! To make that background I taped the watercolor paper down to my desk with washi tape on all four sides to mask that part of the paper. Then I started lightly scribbling lines across the paper in equal sections with the following colors (in order from the top): Pacific Point, Bermuda Bay, Melon Mambo, Old Olive and Daffodil Delight.  Once I had the colors on the paper I used my aqua painter and added water to each section in a downward motion, slowly.  Do not go back upwards or the colors will mix! Once I had the look I liked I set it aside to dry.

To make the dragonfly I cut out an intricate dragonfly for the top part with Mint Macaron cardstock. There is also a layer of vellum underneath that I cut with the open dragon fly.  These were both cut using the Detailed Dragonfly Thinlits. Before I put them together, I used my sponge daubers to sponge in Rich Razzleberry on the top wings and Wisteria Wonder on the bottom wings.  I finished that off with Wink of Stella in clear.   I could not believe how much it looked like real wings when I did this! I carefully glued the pieces together.

When I knew the watercolor paper was completely dry, I used Versamark to stamp the adorable dots that come in the Dragonfly Dreams stamp set. I then covered them with gold embossing powder. I heat set that and also added a Happy Birthday sentiment from the Butterfly Basics stamp too.  I added some gold thread little more sparkle.

This card sounds much more difficult than it is to make.  If you don’t have the Watercolor pencils or this stamp set, I highly recommend you add them to your supplies!

Thanks for stopping by and I hope I can post again sometime soon!

~Kristal

Supplies used:

 

 

Leave a Reply

